Student call ups?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by trombone84, Jun 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I work full time for an employer who says i can't volunteer to go to a hot sunny place. One day a week i'm on day release to college to do a course that they paid for.

Is it true that I can't be called up because technically i'm a student? Is there a way to get round this?

2. yes volunteer

nothing should stop if you really wish to go
    however balance that against the fact you may not have a job to come back to if you do volunteer
    better to be mobilised 'involuntarily'

3. If you volunteer, no job guarantee.

If you get called up, it's a whole different story.

Ask your TA unit.

4. students are exempt mobilisation, not sure if your circumstances count though.

Do you work for a big employer? If you are might be better to get a new job and no piss the big employer off..and making it worse for the rest of us

5. Not sure about those who are working but on day release to college but those in full time eDukation (i.e uni) are exempt from a call up. However its pretty easy to get around this as I and several other blokes I know just took a year out of uni and jetted of to the sand pit and started back the following year.

If in doubt check out Sabre, they have a rep that checks these boards so drop them a PM.

Scots

6. So i can be involuntarily mobilised depite being a dirty work dodging student one day a week? Only my troopy says otherwise.

7. Having had a quick check of the FAQ (always a good start) being a student it doesnt exempt you from being called up it just gives you good grounds to appeal.

Besides is it not only those who volunteer to be mobilsed since Dec 2005? A quick check will reveal.

Scots