Strength training: advice required.

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Werewolf, May 5, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. At the moment, I only have two days(Wednesday and Sunday)when I can use the free weights gym; the rest of the time it's on restricted opening hours because of the fcuking students doing their exams... :x

Unlike studants, I have to work for a living, so these are the only two days a week I can use the FW1 gym for the next month.

Since I only have two weight training days, I was considering trying the 5X5, to get maximum benefit for the time I have.

I would welcome the advice/opinions of other weight trainers as to wether the 5X5 is suitible for two days a week, or if I should try another program.

Thanks. :)
  2. if you only have 2 days to train than train upper body one day,lower body another.each workout should last 45-60 mins longer is a wasteo f time to the body,try and emphasize on upper body day more the back,chest and shoulders in that order rather than going for showy body part such as biceps this will not help you come training and having a stong back will set you apart from the rest of the pack who will never have traine there's,

if you want more info contact me or visit
  3. Thanks, Andy.

Yeah, I'm training for strength/power rather than appearance, so whatever program I use, I'll concentrating on the major compound lifts. Low reps and heavy weights...
  4. 5x5 periodisation system is fine (sometimes I only did programs using doubles & triples for my dead lift sessions as it's pretty hard going on the hands / grip), I was making strength / power gains with it training each "main lift" (e.g. deadlift, squat, bench press) only once every 7-8 days.