Sticky Weapons

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by SavageByName, Jun 11, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am going to a fair this weekend on a recruitment drive. Oh the fun, I hear you say! I have looked at the recruiting toolbox and done a search etc, but I'm interested in the best ways to stop kids getting ice cream on my kit and how to get rid of the warry types.

I'm hoping to actually tell people about us and try to recruit people, but I have never done one of these before and am bricking it at the thought of having no serious potential recruits.

Anyone done many of these, got any tips on etiquette and how to deal with non starter types?

I can't seem to get on a tour, but I guess this is front line action at its best for a (NC) regiment!
  2. men in uniform at any fair or similar only seem to attract children and people who can't join the military because of a medical reason! just be really boring and don't seem the sightest bit interested when they tell that an ak47 is better than your A2. i've done a few of these type events and you'll get 10 people who have no interest in joining TA for every 1 that does!
  3. Just smile and say"i'm really happy that you are so interested by the way is that your mother over there" :wink:
  4. Oh my goodness -- that brings back fond memories!!

Recruiting at Weston Sewage Mare in the late 80's. Have on display the mighty cold war triplets ---- GMPG, SLR and SMG.