Stay in education or get some work experience?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Hide'n'Seek, May 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Now that I've decided to wait a year before re-applying do you think staying at uni for a PhD would be valued more over a years worth of work experience?

I've never had a job so I'm kind of worried that although I'll have a good educational background I have no work experience whatsoever.

2. With your two passports you could do two courses - - double the chances of passing - I'm sure a man of you calibre could do a PHD in a year even though you'll have to fit in your MI5 and Mossad duties as well.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. -_- I'm just finishing up my masters this year and a PhD usually takes around 2 years to obtain but hopefully I can manage it in 1 year, and no I do not own 2 passports. Can you just drop that old thread :/
  4. Are you suffering from some form of attention deficit?
    • Like Like x 1
  5. scaryspice

scaryspice LE Moderator

A PhD in a year? You have to be joking. Go and get some experience in the real world or you're going to look like a perpetual student by the time you actually get round to applying.
  6. Just watch as this shit takes off. Can someone bin it?
  7. PhD in a year?

Dream on.
  8. It sounds like you are on an educational roll. I'd stick with it, even if it takes you longer than a year. It's a simple fact! The more educational qualifications that you have, the more doors that will be open to you and of course, you will go much further over the course of your whole life.
  9. People clever enough to do a PhD in a year end up in rather sticky circumstances in North Face duffel bags, don't they?