Start Training - 9 days (July 24th)

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by ethicaL, Jul 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Well 1st off its my first time on the forums so id like to say a big hello :D. My names Alex, im male, 17 and from the UK, im 18 on July the 23rd and go right to training on July 24th, kinda nervous as its finally hit home as to what im gonna be getting into. Currently on about 11.55 for 1.5 run, can do about 15 press-ups without a break and i can pump out loadsa situps "if" i got my feet under something. As for chinups, couldnt bring myself to do any at selection, and still cant now, havent been able to have access to a gym and only have around a month to prepare for basic, so ive kinda jumped right in the deepend with my armbands!!!!!!

I have motivation, easy to get along with, will help my colleges and self determination to push myself, mind over matter as they say, ive been doing what i can on the army training scheme that i received in my booklet after passing Selection at Glencorse. Ive been revising alot of stuff that i thought might come up etc etc, so i just hope im ready. On a level of fitness from 1 to 10 im about 7, would this be okay for basic training? as really their main aim is to get me the fittest ive ever been.

I suppose im here for some reassurance that im doing the right thing, that my fitness wont let me down, any tips or the "heads up" on whats to come would be brilliant, thanks very much for your help..

P.S im joining up into the Royal Armoured Corps, hopefully 9th/12th Lancers =]

Thanks, alex.

*EDIT* Just incase anyone is wondering, im doing my basic @ ATR Winchester.
  2. On a level of fitness from 1 to 10 you are not 7, you are more of a 4.