Sport and operations

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by baby_officer, Feb 14, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I was just debating. Being a baby officer, I think about being a growed up officer quite a bit.
    At the moment a play a lot of hockey at county level, and recently I have received a lot of encouragement off my coach for taking it further. At the moment I have far too much going on in my life to be taking on more responsibilities with hockey. I play 5 times a week as it is.
    With exams at school and my scholarship, I feel it is a higher priority for me to be concentrating on my school work whilst maintaining my fitness until I go to Sandhurst.
    I will get to my point eventually.
    I have been informed about the Army Hockey Association and I would be very keen to join once I'm green, but I am also wary of warnings from my cousin in the marines. He told me that if I got involved with hockey, then I will be heavily restricted on operations. Now I love hockey, absolutely love it, but equally I don't know whether I am prepared to sacrifice the best part of my career for it. I acknowledge that if I want to play hockey in the Army, there will be huge opportunities for me if I do well.
    I know I shouldn't be worrying about it now, but I'm just curious about how it will affect my career if I choose to persue it once I am in the Army.
    Any advice or knowledge on this from any of you cool green folk will be graciously accpeted and considered.

:D Al :D
  2. chimera

chimera LE Moderator