Speed camera switch-off sees fewer accidents

I heard something on local news that Lancashire Constabulary are going to be reviewing the speed cameras in the county and removing those that have not shown a cut in accidents.

I'd say that speed cameras cause accidents after seeing the number of people that slam on when they spot the yellow box.

Errr one study in one place...Swindon. So a number of councils jump on the bandwagon and decide to remove the cameras. Personally as a car driver I'm happy. Will they also be removing the mobile camera teams that surreptitiously park in unexpected places to catch me speeding. Oh joy if they're going aswell.

Errr one study in one place...Swindon. So a number of councils jump on the bandwagon and decide to remove the cameras. Personally as a car driver I'm happy. Will they also be removing the mobile camera teams that surreptitiously park in unexpected places to catch me speeding. Oh joy if they're going aswell.
Ah yes, the TaliVans, run by the Council, not the Police and purely intended to raise revenue. My local plod don't agree with them and their hiding behind bushes tactics.

I'm sorry but there is NO WAY speed cameras are used only to elicit cash from the motorists of the UK for the benefit of the Local Authority. Each single camera is placed with great care and diligence, sited in correlation to areas where accident rates are highest in an effort to reduce said accidents.

Especially those cameras placed yards within a reduced speed limit area.

Especially those really well marked ones hidden by this summer's plant growth.

Especially those motorway/dual carriageway ones at pedestrian crossing points...

I hate to think I am cynical, but things like this just go to show that underneath it all - I am!