South Arabia GSM

Now in my 70s and with all this BLM stuff going on It gives me grave concern. I am an Aden veteran, served there 1966/67. Did 3 tours upcountry. As you know Aden Protectorate was a British Colony, the British having been there since 1839 until November 1967.
I can see the writing on the wall that those who served there could be vilified and some daft idiot will cow tow and say we have to hand the medals back as it was part of the Imperial British past.
Queen Victoria’s statue used to be in Steamer Point near the Rock Hotel.
History is history.
Am I reading it wrong?

History is history.

Nails it. It cannot be changed, destroying statues doesn't change it. Accept, live and let live, and move on

Now in my 70s and with all this BLM stuff going on It gives me grave concern. I am an Aden veteran, served there 1966/67. Did 3 tours upcountry. As you know Aden Protectorate was a British Colony, the British having been there since 1839 until November 1967.
I can see the writing on the wall that those who served there could be vilified and some daft idiot will cow tow and say we have to hand the medals back as it was part of the Imperial British past.
History is history.
Am I reading it wrong?
If you look on the old films of the British veterans of Aden posted on YouTube, a lot are by local Aden people saying that the British time was a golden era in their history and they wish the British were back. Doesn't quite fit in with the leftie woke brigade though.

Not just Aden. There's quiet a few places that regret the day the flag came down. Revisionists? **** 'em!

History is history.
Am I reading it wrong?
served there 1965/67. Aden , waddyayne, bahane and dhala, proud to have served there.

served there 1965/67. Aden , waddyayne, bahane and dhala, proud to have served there.

We were there as pads brats from '63 - '65, but my old man didn't have a GSM for it.

He had the GSM for Malaysia, but only that single bar.

Would that be a common situation?