Some prospective questions..

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Altaïr, Jan 15, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi
    Basically I'm a 2 year uni student, 4 year course, and I'm considering joining after I graduate. I'm really just at the stage where I'm reading, and seeing if I am eligible and if its the right choice for me.

Anyway the real question. I wear glasses, I'm not super blind, I'm within the army's limits, however I know I would be pretty useless without them. After watching documentaries of the armed forces, I really wouldn't fancy wearing them while serving. With this and my own interests considered, I've been thinking about laser eye surgery. Not the crappy cheap stuff, the decent clinics and looking at the types the army allows. I know (at least I think I know) the army has a 1 year medical lay off between surgery and applications, but I don't really know what I would do with this time. Is there anything that is really worthwhile doing, in terms of strengthening my application rather than just bumming around waiting? Also does anyone have any experience of wearing glasses or of having laser eye surgery in the army?

Hope I haven't too much of a noob question.

2. Short answer is that I would not recommend it. The army policy on laser eye surgery is a bit vague to say the least and with lots of people applying to join at the moment you might be chancing your luck. I would recommend that you apply and join up (assuming you pass) and then re think it once you are in. There are some genuine post surgery potential infection concerns which remain even after a year after the surgery.

3. Just think carefully about my following:

YOUR EYES

A LASER IN THEM

That doesn't bother you at all?