Some Advice Surrounding Future Prospects of Army Employment

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by fourthreefour, Aug 10, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I am currently studying Biology at university. I had aspirations to join the RAAC following graduation as an officer.

Through what was at the time perceived as a simple act, I have accrued a criminal record for theft in breach of trust. It is something I am deeply ashamed of, and an act that I don't think I will ever personally reconcile with. However I sincerely hope that it won't impact my future as much as I fear it will.

I was dealt with by way of a 12 month suspended sentence and 150 hours of community service. I also had to make financial reparations.

Obviously, this conviction is not considered spent for 10 years, which would put me at 29 by the time I can put it behind me.It is not in my usual character, and I have no doubt I will remain the correct side of the law for the remainder of my years.

I have researched as much as humanly possible short of going to an AFCO, including talking to the staff behind the online Army chat, however I am none the wiser. It is my hope that there is someone a bit more in the know, or even plain speculation that can perhaps aid me in changing my plans for the future. Would this particular type of offence automatically bar me from entry to the armed forces? I know that I can forget the hope of joining as an officer, but as the army was my only hope for a career in life - I'd join at any level under any branch as long as I had the privilege of serving.

Whilst I have a feeling most of what you will say is what I have already read - I am just curious to see if anyone has any opinions or specific knowledge surrounding similar cases to mine.