Some advice pls - really new to this

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by MissSam, Mar 9, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I could do with some advice. I'm completely new to army recruitment having at first decided on the RAF but now not so sure - thinking green might be rather more fun - so I apologise if I ask anything monumentally stupid. I'm thinking of applying for student nurse. I always wanted to do something medical but somehow ended up doing law at uni and then working for the local council. Deeply bored and dissatisfied so time for a change me thinks, and the armed forces really appeals with travel, routine, being part of something, etc.

Firstly, is student nursing over subscribed/closed/come back in 50 years/etc? I imagine it's pretty tough to get in to with stiff competiton but I'm willing to try pretty hard. I don't know what the state of Army recruiting is at the moment (although I do know the RAF is basically full, hence my thinking of looking elsewhere). Any pointers/advice?

Secondly, am I, realistically, getting on a bit at 26? I don't feel esepecially old but I don't want to be seen as an old codger compared to my peers! I'm pretty fit and willing to train hard so I'm not too worried there.

Thirdly, does anyone have any general advice/insight about being a student nurse and the selection process? I understand it's a bit more involved than the "normal" recruitment process.

Thanks in advance!
  2. The army is overmanned.There is huge waiting lists for almost every job.Also the sdr will be taking place soon which could mean big cuts in the army. :cry:
  3. Ravers

Ravers LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

If you have a law degree why don't you try joining Army Legal Services?