Soldiers on PAYE - Tax question.

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by Armd_Farmer, Apr 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Probably talking shite here but had enough of red tape.

As all us soldiers do, we buy our own kit, travel to work in our own vehicles, buy "new" patches for our uniforms, court mount our medals and by mess dress etc and the list goes on - not to mention charity contributions, service days pay givings and the rest that goes with it.

I used to be SC60 when on civvy strasse which meant i was a self employed sub contractor, i payed a higher rate of taxes but could claim back all my expenses at the end of the tax year - tools, petrol, expenses. (MMA,Personel equipment, work clothing - to map it accross to military speak)

All soldiers try it on (just like i did and asked if my tax band could be changed to SC60) - The clerk flapped, and scratched his head saying no one had ever asked before. The answer i got from higher was that if i was self employed for taxation purposes, that would make me a mercenary :roll:

My point is this. . . and i think this is fantastic. Every expense i pay out for, i could claim back through the taxman. I would not have to fill out pointless forms to be turned down or endure JPA. It would save the military millions in photocopying, clerks that say no, JPA that just isn't worth talking about. All i have to do is save my receipts and put a single claim in at the end of the year, not to mention those posted overseas or out of the country for 6 months!

answers on a post card :) - or even to GEMS??

feedback and opinions welcome

EDITED - especially now that we have "human rights" apparently
  2. Think your first line says it all!!!!!

3. Totally agree with his first sentence, what a knob knocker.