Soldiers Attitude Towards Officers

Discussion in 'Officers' started by ocelot, Mar 29, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Am not an Officer, I'm a student at Uni completing a IT degree.
    I plan on going for Officer entry after my degree.
    I was at a pub last night and friends of friend were attending.
    There was 3/4 Regular soldiers and a old guy from the TA.

We were talking and up came the point about me going for Officer entry, to hear "what what" and "champers sipper" was bruted out.
    They were saying "join as a reg, Officers do fluff. There is the odd 'sound' Officer but most are up their own asses".

What generally is the attitude towards Officers from their soldiers (other than respect), am talking the bad cases?

Of course this was all water off a ducks back to me and off I went to the bar for some Bell's Whisk(e)y.

2. No Wah, was a tongue in cheek motion :p

3. No Wah?

Officers are taken by their manner and attitude, you get a good one, you are lucky and he will be listened to.

You get a public schoolboy with the "im in charge" attitude, you will be listened to, and then ignored.

The rank on your shoulder does not make you a good officer that soldiers listen to, having the nounce to see when a more experienced guy knows what to do, above you, makes a good officer, regardless of his rank.
    Learning from people who have been there, makes you a good officer, and doing your best for your men, makes you a good officer.

Any new officer will be treated according to the way he treats his men, you act the cnut, you get treated as such, you do your best for them, they will give you respect.

As a new officer, you need to learn fast, that you have two ears and one mouth, so you should listen twice as much as you speak, (To coin a phrase from Sharpe) old saying, but its one that works.