Soldiers and Warriors

Discussion in 'US' started by Canader, Jan 16, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Soldiers and Warriors
    By Robert Bateman

I am a Seventh Cavalry officer. I commanded in that most famous of American units, and my regimental affiliation and affections will always be with the men who wear the upturned horseshoe crest of that regiment. As a historian, and as perhaps the de facto regimental historian (since there is no such thing as a de jure position for this function), I am also very well acquainted with our legacy.

The Seventh Cavalry was created to man the outposts of the frontiers in the wake of the Civil War, and to fight against the warrior cultures of the Native American tribes as need be. But in doing so they were not then, and are not now, warriors themselves. The men of the 7th Cavalry were and are soldiers. There is a significant difference between the two.

Unfortunately, and I cannot nail down when this started, a trend started to take hold in the Army and the Marine Corps which blurred that distinction. Sometime in the mid-90s we started to hear senior officers (defined in my head as "Colonels and Up") calling us "warriors."

Soldiers and Warriors - Intel Dump - Phillip Carter on national security and the military.

2. Isn't it just a case of semantics coming in to play? I'm pretty certain that a soldier could quite easily fall into the mould of 'warrior caste.'

Or more likely, it's the press, looking to up the sales figures and front paging our 'gallant lads' and regaling our returning troops, one and all, as heroes.