soldier with degree?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by rhos, Nov 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok so im new to the site so sorry if i repeat any old quiries, but i am in a bit of a conundrum at the moment (Ill apologize now if i rant for a while) The problem i have is that i recently failed my aosb main board to become an officer, i believe it is down to me not beign that well read about things like novelists and composers (yes they ask that kind of shit) and also my maths is poor, my phys is fine 1.5 in 8.40 (and im a big guy) pressups through the arse and sit ups no probs, im also agile and completed all the tests the parachute insight course threw at me, i have a degree in history and am now 23 years old. Now here comes the fun... although ive always been told to join as an officer i never really wanted it, it was all a little posh and some aspects boring for me, i always believed id make an exelent soldier but not a great officer, i can try my officer board again in 6months but really dont want to, i really want to join the parachute regiment, i am up to the standards and could get in fairly quickly due to all forms, medicals ect already been done for officer selection. But i want a full career, so would i find it hard with my age of getting promoted or will the extra qualifications age and confidence help, also is a full career in paras a good route to go for, i'd really like anyones views on this, thank you.
  2. I've been away from the ARRSE world for a few months, but my thoughts on this is WAHHHHHHHH. I know the fact that you can get a degree means that you can take in and retain information, then give the necessary correct answer, but please, hit spell check now and again.