Soldier to Officer

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by AlphaKennyThing, Sep 23, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. A fairly common one in the search bar, and one covered before - but none which related to me specifically from what I could see.

I'm currently a regular soldier, and I'm thinking of starting the process of requesting a go at selection for Sandhurst. So same old in that respect, and after having had a good look around I'm aware it takes some time and the like.

The only difference is I'm married, and as of Christmas I'll have a son. If, all going well, I ended up going to Sandhurst, does anyone know what would happen about married quarters and such?

I've asked a few people about camp and they've all been a bit stumped by it. I'm concerned that I'd go back into a 'basic training' style mode and would miss out on the best part of a year with nowhere to stick my wife and kid.

If anyone has any idea, or knows someone who's done something similar, that would be awesome.

2. There was an ex-soldier pad on my course.

No idea where he was quartered, but he got to see his family on Academy leave weekends, most Sundays after Week 5 and during the leave periods between terms.

That said, he was also very busy in the female Platoon lines as the rest of us were, so I imagine he enjoyed his time apart a lot more than his wife did.

3. You can apply for a quarter at the Academy, but don't expect to see too much of the family in the first few weeks.

There was a married, ex-Sgt in my intake on the patch and worked well enough for him.

4. Ah, well guess it's doable then. All helpful info.

5. I went to Sandhurst as a married soldier an kept my pad in Aldershot. I never heard of anyone having a pad at Sandhurst, but things may have changed.

6. cpunk

cpunk LE Moderator