soldier to officer

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by msnh28, Mar 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi everyone, I am a serving soldier in artillery, has been for last 4 years. recently my BC thinks I can be a potential officer candidate. and he is looking to push it forward. i have just received my CR from first RO and it is gleaming, i have been recommended for 2 ranks up and overall grade of A-. I was just wondering what are the age and educational requirements to be commissioned.

Thank you for reading and off course, reply.
  2. One of the very first thing an officer does when writing a letter is to check his spelling and syntax.

So far - FAIL.

PS - Your BC might just be politely trying to get rid of you.
    • Like Like x 3
  3. To the OP.

Wah..... or if you're so shit hot, why not use the search function or interweb to find out yourself?...I'm with plunderer on this. Oldest trick in the book.

...and you fell for it.....Nelson - Ha Ha [Original] - YouTube
    • Like Like x 1
  4. thanks for being so helpful guys. really appreciated!
  5. You may not like it but they're right.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Go for it mate!

Have a chat with your OC and with blokes from your Bn who have made the leap.

Best of luck!
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Yeah we always give people we want to get rid of A- on their SJARS.

To the OP I would ignore most of the replies and go for it, at least to explore your options. The army will help with any educational qualifications and merely having a crack at it can be advantageous to your career if you are ultimately unsuccessful.
  8. Some of you are such sad miserable people.

You can't find proper advice on arrse anymore because of idiots like you. Just answer the mans question.

To the OP, minimum age is 26 for most units, and you need to have minimum 180 UCAS points.