Software (apps and stuff) for the Army

Animus

Old-Salt
Seems there's an app for everything nowadays, but is the military left out?

The yanks have quite a few:
- Home
- Organized Chaos

Are there any simple things an app could help with?

I've been out for 5 or so years now, but i imagine people are still signing in for their meals in the mess with pen and paper?
What about all the non-JPA stuff to with housing, vehicles, education etc?

I'm now a coder so would like to build a website/app or two to give back to the community

In_Twists

Old-Salt
Hmm...did you get on Defence Gateway before you left? Theres quite a bit there for blokes to use.
To be honest though, noone really needs an Army-wide app to tell them when to handover their quarter, which car to buy or when to get their missus to pick them up from camp. Microsoft has it sorted!

If you want to put your skills to good use, find a way of informing British Legions and Regimental Associations of blokes that have just left, and making sure that the leaver has someone to turn to for ANYTHING, during those first few years of getting out. (yes its been mentioned elsewhere)

Animus

Old-Salt
Hmm...did you get on Defence Gateway before you left? Theres quite a bit there for blokes to use.
To be honest though, noone really needs an Army-wide app to tell them when to handover their quarter, which car to buy or when to get their missus to pick them up from camp. Microsoft has it sorted!

If you want to put your skills to good use, find a way of informing British Legions and Regimental Associations of blokes that have just left, and making sure that the leaver has someone to turn to for ANYTHING, during those first few years of getting out. (yes its been mentioned elsewhere)
Thanks for the steer, although I refuse to believe Microsoft nor the Army has sorted everything!

Perhaps welfare and transition is the area to focus on but I'm open to hearing any other pain points too, no matter how small or trivial