so, what IS the correct dress for sports events?

Discussion in 'Officers' started by massivegeoff, Oct 13, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. i'm an ACF officer, and have recently been made the county sports officer (along with a bunch of other stuff...this is supposed to be a HOBBY!) in the past when going to sports events i have worn what i THOUGHT was the correct rig, ie tweed jacket, cords (i don't own moleskins at the moment), county tie and a flat cap. i have seen senior officers at regional and national events wear this and i assumed it was de rigour. however, i get a bit of flack from my county HQ staff for dressing like a farmer! when i was at the factory back in the day we always wore a blazer (preferably the issue kevlar one). doesn't bother me too much as these are also the guys who insist that i can't wear barrack dress at county hq in the office because it's a "made up form of dress".

just curious.

2. What the correct dress for watching sport is, I have no idea.

For participating, though, the correct dress is surely red singlet, hugely-voluminous navy blue cotton shorts, and a pair of black issue plimsolls.

All the best,

John.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Wear what you want. You're a civvy, and it's your own free time.

4. What sort of sports are you obliged to oversee? - from the description of your apparel it rather sounds as though the cadets are chasing after otters.

5. If it was good enough for us to have worn while facing-down Ivan, it should be bloody-well good enough now.

6. euan1.jpg

It is a sports event after all

7. Didn't you just get married?

• Like Like x 2