so what do you do?

I'm currently travelling alone before starting and sandhurst so i'm meeting quite a few new people every day. The problem is that about 5 minutes into the conversation i get asked "what do you do?"

if I tell them the whole truth the conversation often stops there, with a strange look, if I lie and tell them "i don't know i'm going abck to the uk to get a job" things carry on fine.

What have other people found works well as being something based in truth but doesn't kill converation?

As a Met Police officer I have often found the same thing. My mate's line "I do a bit of running around for a large law firm" seems to work fine.

Trotsky

I suspect the conversation (or should that be converation?) stops because, if you speak as you post, you will have reduced your audience to a state of baffled incomprehension. I wish you all success at starting and at the RMA.

<Sorry, feeling a little snide and male-menopausal today>

Tell them you're a Civil Servant - that's broad enought to encompass all sorts of things!

If you're at Sandhurst, tell them you're a student and your course personnel management.

Many years ago, when the IRA was a credible threat and soldiers and Australian tourists were legitimate targets, I used to say I worked for a large engineering firm that had a few govt contracts. When I was based at RAF Aldergrove I just told people I was working at the airport on short-term contract, handy if somebody says "Oh so&so's brother works there do you know him?".

Now I don't have to tell them anything coz my has already told them!

To be honest if they don't want to talk to you coz you're going to Sandbags, do you really want to talk to them?

cpunk

LE
Tell them you are about to start a course in which you will learn how to become 'Death, harbinger of war, pestilence plague and famine; destroyer of Nations; exterminator of great and small, man, woman and child; and polishing boots'...

safetypin said: