• ARRSE have partnered with Armadillo Merino to bring you an ARRSE exclusive, generous discount offer on their full price range.
    To keep you warm with the best of Merino gear, visit www.armadillomerino.co.uk and use the code: NEWARRSE40 at the checkout to get 40% off!
    This superb deal has been generously offered to us by Armadillo Merino and is valid until midnight on the the 28th of February.

So was Hitler an idiot?

I've been watching a few documentaries recently and although he seems to have done well in 1939/40, while listening to his Generals, he seems to have blown it in 1941. Pausing the attack on Moscow and diverting south when victory was in his grasp. Pausing at Stalingrad and diverting south for the oil fields, then changing his mind 2 weeks later blowing the whole thing.

I'm no expert but even I know you re-enforce success and don't chop and change every five minutes.

Any Barbarossa experts in the house able to expand?

He was alright when he listened to his Generals, it all went to ratshit when he started thinking that he was anymore than a vastly over promoted Lance Jack.

In my opinion anyway.

According to the generals, every German victory was the result of generals' brilliance and every defeat was caused by Hitler's interference.

Of course the generals we able to write memoirs post war, while Hitler was not.

On your detailed points, I don't think victory was in the German's grasp at Moscow, the oil fields were very important and being further south there were less weather problems, Hitler did get obsessed with Stalingrad probably because of the name.

He outreached himself with the limited resources to hand. I never understood why he hit the Russians when he did. Why not finish us off and re-arm, regroup etc then hit Stalin. Stalin would have kept, he clearly never saw it coming.

So yep, Hitler was a div. Fcuker had style though.