So was Hitler an idiot?

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by Ord_Sgt, Nov 16, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ord_Sgt

Ord_Sgt RIP

I've been watching a few documentaries recently and although he seems to have done well in 1939/40, while listening to his Generals, he seems to have blown it in 1941. Pausing the attack on Moscow and diverting south when victory was in his grasp. Pausing at Stalingrad and diverting south for the oil fields, then changing his mind 2 weeks later blowing the whole thing.

I'm no expert but even I know you re-enforce success and don't chop and change every five minutes.

Any Barbarossa experts in the house able to expand?

2. No not really he was just misunderstood.

3. Ord_Sgt

Ord_Sgt RIP

The more I watch the more the guy is a bit of a biff.

4. He was alright when he listened to his Generals, it all went to ratshit when he started thinking that he was anymore than a vastly over promoted Lance Jack.

In my opinion anyway.

5. According to the generals, every German victory was the result of generals' brilliance and every defeat was caused by Hitler's interference.

Of course the generals we able to write memoirs post war, while Hitler was not.

On your detailed points, I don't think victory was in the German's grasp at Moscow, the oil fields were very important and being further south there were less weather problems, Hitler did get obsessed with Stalingrad probably because of the name.

6. He outreached himself with the limited resources to hand. I never understood why he hit the Russians when he did. Why not finish us off and re-arm, regroup etc then hit Stalin. Stalin would have kept, he clearly never saw it coming.

So yep, Hitler was a div. Fcuker had style though.

Edited to add. Leaving the Africa Corp to rot was the beginning of the end and I think that was his decision.