Snow Chains

Discussion in 'RLC' started by Slightly_Nasty, Jan 1, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Guys,
    Been having a few problems with a bit of snow lately, and have to regularly travel on un-gritted country roads. Obviously, I would prefer to avoid the expense and hassle of buying winter tyres just for a few weeks per year, but a set of snow chains to keep in the boot wouldn't stretch the budget too much.
    Problem: I drive an X-Type auto "All Wheel Drive", and have been told that I can't fit snow chains, either because of the permanent AWD or the auto, I forget which as I was slightly drunk when it was explained to me.
    Rather than spending several weeks researching it to find out if it's true and why, I thought I would ask the experts.
  2. I'm not an expert but I recall that so-called AWD cars need the tyres to slip and if you fit them with chains, they can't slip. So, the gearbox gets all wound up - or something like that!

If you need an improved winter capability, why not fit winter tyres? Take them off in the spring, though!

3. Ah well, thanks for explaining it, mate.
    And like I said, winter tyres not worth the cost or hassle, so I'll crack on with what I have.
  4. Got told this one with the Chrysler 300 that I have, something to do with it being an auto. Only reason I had to look in the first place was that I had to drive to an outskirt of Wolverhampton where apparently gritting lorries were a thing from the future and snow was a pretty thing to leave on the roads.

Looked around on the net and was basically told it was b0llocks, the limited slip difs and all the other contraptions will work just fine if you turn the traction control off, it was something to do with the extra traction that snow chains give putting extra stress on the dif when the TC was trying to assign drive to wheels.