Snipers and Beta Blockers?

Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by Jerrycan2793, Dec 19, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just watched an episode of Bones I heard that snipers often use Beta Blockers to calm their breathing prior to shooting. This draws my memory to an old game on the playstation in which the main protagonist uses diazepam to calm his nerves.

Now I am not an expert marksman nor a sniper, I am a TA and a S**T shot at that but it sounded strange. Is drugging a sniper a done thing or is it just an interesting rumour for television and gaming purposes.

to me it sounds a little odd as been under the influence of drugs would probably hinder an effective extraction?

Just an interest question though so not getting an answer wouldnt be the end of the world.

2. Total bullshit. Beta blockers will have negative effects on otherwise healthy individuals. Complete nonsense - and you should feel embarrassed for even considering it as a half truth.

3. In certain Regiments you can find snipers on drugs.
    It's usually Coke and Pills are the drugs of choice.

4. Ill consider myself embarrassed, Its something I would have normally dismissed but its something that just keeps popping up.

Thanks for the answer though.

5. I dont think its the "done thing" but there are certainly reports of beta-blockers being used by other professions such as musicians and surgeons to control hand tremors, hypertension, breathing etc. Usualy propranolol or similar.

6. Gremlin

Gremlin LE Good Egg (charities)

They also screw up your sleep.

The amount needed to counter tremors for sniping would be over 80mg pd, taken on a daily basis for the effect to be noticed. You can't just drop a tab and stop shaking.

7. It would appear that the national centre for biotechnology disagrees with you on that bit.