sniper course

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by jase2472, Nov 3, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. i am ex reg in the TA is there a sniper course that i can do, i am non infantry!!
    cheers
    waiting open armed for the anti-stab abuse! :eek:

2. Woo go STABS!

3. Hi

The only course you might be able to do is the L96 Sharpshooter Course, but i have only known Infantry getting on this course.

There is no TA Sniper Course as such, the only way you would be able to do the Sniper course would be to go FTRS then try to get the unit to bid yfor the Sniper course but i really cant see that happening.

hope this helps :D

4. cheers davie thats great thanks buddy

5. no probs

6. I'm no expert but my understanding is that it's p[retty impossible. Not many sniper instructors in the TA, difficult to find soldiers skilled enough to pass the course and Reg/TA animosity of the usual "they can't possibly keep the skills up on a weeken a fortnight". But with the increasing access to reg courses you might be in with an outside chance. You'd be better off applying for that course from a unit with a role that has a justification for the expensive sniper training (STA, Inf, Armd Recce or SF off the top of my head).

Your best bet is to get hold of some pictures of your PSI snorting cocaine off a ladyboys cokk and use it as leverage to get on the Reg course.

• Like Like x 1
  7. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator

Jase,

find a parent or sponsor regular unit who are holding a sniper cadre and see if yoy can get a space on that. If it is run by people with the correctr quals, and you meet the standards you can get qualified.

That said, most TA units are losing the scaling for L96, and so you will hold a qualification for a weapon system you cannot use. Is it worth it?

8. Go RMR. They do in-house sniper cadre and are NOT losing their scaling.