Smoking a chicken on a BBQ

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by supermatelot, Sep 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Anyone able to advise on the best way to do this please. I've never done it before. I have a bog standard BBQ with a hood - not a mega fancy one. Plan on using a smallish chicken and some apple wood chips i'm currently soaking. Will post photo of BBQ in a sec to give some idea of my "tools".

2. Cant add phot from existing post from my phone. Here is my bbq, about 60x60 cm across. Top grill removed for cleaning.

Sent from my iPhone using ARRSE

Attached Files:

3. You need to soak the chx in salt and sugar water for 4-6 hours. Add any herbs and spices yoy like to the brine. Piri piri or cajun blends work well.

Smoke for 1.5 to 2 hours first unwrapped then cover well with foil halfway to avoid charring and drying out.

Go easy on the charcoal or it will be dry and or burnt. Normal rules apply for lighting and using the charcoal before adding soaked wood and the bird.
  4. Charcoal barbie, good work that man, not one of those gas fired shite!