Small Claims Court....

Ravers

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
A little advice if you please.

In March I had some blinds fitted in my flat. I was at work at the time but my missus stayed at the gaff to let the fitter in.

During the course of fitting the blinds, the fitter knocked over my guitar, cracking the neck in the process.

My wife witnessed this.

The fitter put the guitar back on its stand claiming it wasn’t damaged and completed the installation of the blinds.

When I returned to the flat I noticed that the head of the guitar was bent over and a substantial crack was present. On picking the guitar up the head fell off completely.

I suspect that the guitar had been cracked when dropped and the tension of the strings had slowly pulled the head away, making the crack bigger, hence why the fitter and my wife did not initially notice the damage.

Anyway, I’ve been playing email tennis with the company for the past 3 months. They have admitted that the guitar was dropped, but are saying it was not damaged. They are refusing to accept that their installer caused the extent of damage to the guitar. I believe that because the crack got bigger overtime due to the tension of the strings, they genuinely believe the guitar was OK.

As a good will gesture they offered to have the guitar repaired. While not ideal, I agreed to this. Unfortunately after much trying, the Luthier found the guitar to be beyond repair.

They then offered me £150 in compensation. Since the guitar cost £468, I replied saying this was unacceptable and I require a full like for like replacement. I helpfully pointed out that the identical make and model of guitar is currently on sale for £379 and would be happy to accept this figure as settlement.

They came back upping their offer to £200. Final offer. They also say that their terms and conditions state that all possessions must be removed from the installation area. They are now hiding behind this.