Slow Cookers

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by chasndave, Jun 15, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ladies & Gents

I'm moving to a new job in about 2 months time where I'll be escaping the confines of living in the Mess and moving back into my own pad.

I've never used a slow cooker before, but speaking to mates who have I get the impression they are quite a good thing - "fire and forget", cheap to use etc etc. So I've decided to get myself one and experiment accordingly, and I'm after a few recommendations:

Which type to buy? From my v basic Google-based research I gather you can spend anything from £10 to £100 on one.

Recipes - all and any suggestions gratefully received.

Do's and dont's - what not to use it for (sensible suggestions please!!)

Thanks in advance for your help

2. I thought his thread was going to be about slop jockeys with a hangover
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Get a model with a high and low setting and experiment. I like to brown all the stuff off to give it a bit of colour, stick it all in and basically evening meal is made. You can leave it on low for a few hours and go for a walk.

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Cheap and as suggested a high/low setting.
    Roughly on my electric tariff an oven uses 30p an hour, slow cooker about 1p or less.
    A sauce/stock won't thicken, make it as thick as you want it.
    Try something dead simple to get you going. Slice some carrots, onions, make some bisto gravy, put in the slow cooker, add some stewing steak. Turn on, leave most of the day, doesn't matter how long but probably six hours or longer. Season and eat.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Cheers blokes

I think I'll treat myself to a £20 Asda special and see how I go.