Slipping Standards In The Regulars

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Fatty, Aug 11, 2002.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a TA officer serving with an Infantry Bn.  We are on operations and you would think that this would bring out the best in their soldiering skills.  To my dismay, I have had the misfortune to serve with quite possibly the worst group of so called "professional" officers i have ever seen.  Their unimaginative and slipshod approach to what could quite possibly be a malign environment has amazed me.  In the TA we routinely maintain high standards through training and decisive leadership, something it seems regular officers are not prepared to do.  There is something about a TA officer, and i think more and more regulars are beginning to realise that we can hold our own (and even eclipse their efforts).  During my attachment I have regularly put my subordinates under as much pressure as possible.  I believe that they would only laze around if not.  They often fail to put in returns on time and have questioned my orders.  They will soon learn because i intend to carve a name for myself in this mans Army.
  2. If they've questioned your orders, then perhaps your orders are.......'questionable'.......
  3. OldSnowy

OldSnowy LE Moderator Book Reviewer

F - you show 'em!  What's the point of a regular army nowadays, if they only do garrison duty in foreign sh**holes anyway?  On the few ocasions when fighting is required, we can always use the Paras (well, that's the Govt Line anyway - God knows we can't let them loose in the UK anway).

I can't wait 'til Ma_sonic sees this thread!  never thought I'd be saying this!
  4. woopert

woopert LE Moderator