skiing

Discussion in 'Sports, Adventure Training and Events' started by taff_dee, Dec 1, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. i have just started my application to join the RE. I am also a qualified ski instructor and my recruiting sergeant has told me after phase 2 i will probably be able to teach skiing for the army is this b*llocks or is the opportunity there

2. You should be able to instruct your own Regiment. Plenty skiing to be had on Boxhead land. Do they still run Op Snowqueen? Anyone from BAOR? lol The younger members are looking at me and saying who is this guy is he a dinosaur or what.

3. Not to sure about the Engineers but the Royal Corps Of Dingles (Signals) have plenty of opportunity to instruct. I know a number of individuals who constantly bugger off for the winter months to instruct people silly enough to want to hurl themselves down very steep hills on two planks of wood… While those of us not silly enough stay back and cover their guard duties, work commitments and occasional Op tours…

4. At first you should be able to instruct on a part time basis (ie when your unit can release you from duties). I am sure though that any unit worth its salt will welcome your qualification with open arms - and the Royal Engineers are pretty good at encouraging adventurous training.

If later in your career you decide to become a permanent adventurous training instructor that path is open to you. However, if you are ambitious and want early promotion then this is a course to avoid. In particular I know many REME ski instructors who have balanced a career and instructing on a part time basis- but the REME are slightly unusual since they own their own lodge in Bavaria. The rest of us had to sell our Snow Queen lodges off many years ago.

Hope this helps