Side-Zip Boots

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by thegiantorange, Jun 11, 2009.

1. Good

2. Bad

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. they do look extreamly chippy!!
  2. Surely they will jam up with mud and crud on exercise. Plus they look uber waltish.
  3. I use side-zip boots at work, and they're really useful when you've got to nip inside for food/fag/dump. But I work on an oilrig.

If you want to keep your feet dry, and your boots reasonably tightly laced, I'd stick to the more conventional footwear. Plus, what would you do if the zip quit at an inopportune moment?
  4. I am a new Adult Instructor with the ACF and thought I could avoid buying new boots and use the combat high and combat assault booys stashed in my attic. Unfortunatly, having lost the left leg, both pairs caused discomfort (the left not even fitting correctly due to the prosthesis).

So I thought I'd try zipped police style boots. I contacted Gladstone Boots enquiring about a pair of side zip Swat Originals asking for a bit of cheeky discount. Bob Gladstone's reply was a free pair of boots delivered the very next day. They are superb and really comfortable ... as the label says; training shoe comfort combined with tactical performance. They might not be ideal for you full time warriors, but for a spacker cadet instructor they are fine and dandy!

And Bob Gladstone is a true gent and patriot!
  5. A couple of our grown-ups got these off some septic site, and swear by them, though they have yet to see anything more harsh than a puddle. Cost was around £20 I think, which makes you wonder about their longevity.
  6. As an ex Millets Manager. you can get these at your local millets. But I would suggest avoiding them (unless your an ACF SI)

The zip dosn't worry about mud as it is a large tooth zip.