Should MoD Help?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Markintime, Oct 22, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. A group of Normandy Veterans have been turned down for a grant from MoD to visit and pay their respects.
    Should the MoD help out or not?

2. For specific dates/anniversaries fair one but I get the feeling that every fecking uncle albert down the legion is taking an opportunity to give it the "I'm a soldier me sketch"

FFS its 11 grand, if an organisation can't round up that for an event which by its very nature is entirely predictable they ain't very organised

Perhaps redirect some lottery money from the black disabled transgender dwarf fund

I'm getting a bit of media burn out from all these respect our forces...WE WANT WE DESERVE type stories
  3. I would have thought the MOD has no right to adopt the "we have the taxpayer's interests at heart" stance, when you consider their previous frittering of public money on works of art and seating.

Time is moving on, and sadly, the veteran's associations are beginning to close down, it's not likely there will be many more visits to Normandy, and even less likely anyone will try and request public funding for such visits.

One "last" time won't hurt, it's the least the MOD could do.
  4. In principal it would wonderful for the MoD to pick up the bill.
    Reality is that there are plenty of places the money needs spending and although £11k isn't a fortune in the great scheme of things it still buys quite a lot of bullets.
  5. I understand the concept of the MoD limiting funding to particular anniversaries.

However, scum Brown is willing to give away millions to India a country that does not need any of our cash at all. I do not see why this lot cannot have a tiny 11 grand.