Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should I leave halfway through training?

A1113

Crow
I'm am currently 6 months into AFC Harrogate and I'm starting to consider whether joining the army was the best thing to do. I am currently aspiring to join the rifles but I've met a lot of servicemen that have told me to think twice about joining the army as this really is not what it seems. It just feels like i'm missing out on a lot of experiences to be had. I am not criticising the army at all as so far I've had some good experiences, but I just can't help feeling like it's not the best option when my mates are getting better opportunities, earning more money and seeing the world on holidays while I'm stuck in the drill shed at 9pm on show parade.

I decided to write this on here to get the opinions of ex servicemen which I will really take into consideration because right now the only thing stopping me from leaving is disappointing my family and friends.

I think most people have doubts at some stage of doing anything new. Don't quit, don't get thrown out. Finish what you've started.

As has been said, everyone has doubts at some point. For me I overcame them because I came to realise I couldn't be at ease with myself if I quit.
Oh, and the experiences you will get in the army will be far, far beyond what you can get in civvy street, Unless you just want to take drugs that is.
You are already 'through the door' which is far beyond the stage many get to. Don't spoil a good thing just because you can't see it for what it is yet.

You've gone through a lot to get to where you are now, it would be a total waste and you would regret it if you left now.

People tend to cherry pick and/or exaggerate their experiences, it sounds this is what your mates are doing.

Issi

War Hero