Should I join RE geo & compete uni while in the army or try & complete degree before?

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by Nikolai1989, Apr 19, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good day everyone. This is my first time posting. I certainly have been an avid reader of a number of posts that have been made on this forum. Really enjoy the banter and the sarcastic jabs. Comedy at its best. Anyways, my issue is this: I am a Jamaican currently applying to join the British army, but interestingly enough I am also in the process of completing my degree. However, I really want to be in the army and plus financially, it would see me being put on better footing. As such I am seriously considering the geo tech RE trade, Geo Surveyor and Des. Draughtsman E&M, in that order of preference. Also, to give a better understanding of where I stand academically, I am currently pursuing a degree which is completely unrelated to any of these areas but unfortunately also not very marketable in these tough economic times. Thus, my question is this: Do you think I should try and join the army and complete the degree via distance education and thereby essentially teach myself and just go and sit the exams when that time comes around as seeing that I would only have one more year of the degree program to complete, or would you recommend gritting my teeth and just trying to complete the degree and try another application to join after the degree has been completed? Also, in regards to my list of preferences of Trades, would you recommend I pursue them in that order of importance? Also, is the Geo Tech trade really quite as boring as I've read in various places? Are there good promotion possibilities to possibly commissioning? Do I have to wait to be recommended to commission or can I seek it on my own after a few years in the ranks? And finally, what pay band do all