Should I finish my degree before signing up?

Hi,

I'm new to arrse so sorry if this is in the wrong forum! I'm about to start my second year of uni, and I'm not sure If I should just sack it off at the end of this year and sign up instead. I'm wanting to join the RE, preferably as a chippy. I'm interesting in all that kind of stuff, plus you get a load of qualifications. At present, the dream is to become a clerk of construction. The skills I learn in that trade would set me up well for when my army career ends.

I know there will be benefits to having a degree, but it's a biochemistry degree and I doubt I'll need it. I just wanted the experience of uni. But at the same time, the extra two years at uni will put me in more debt and it's two years that I could be spending on the payroll and developing my career if I join the army. What are your opinions?

Cheers

The Army will be only a part of your future career. Whether you do the full 22 or any combination of years up to 22. For example, you could go in and just do six years. A number of factors could determine once in when you want to leave. Some of them could be personal reasons or it may be operational reasons that make you consider staying or leaving at some period of your service. Until you are there, who knows how it may go?

You would be better off finishing your Uni education and getting a degree. It doesn't matter what it's in, it's the educational level that you have achieved that's important for your future. One of the best officers I met had a degree in history. What's history got to do with being in the Army? You tell me but he went on to eventually retire as a Major General.

I do know a former chippy who qualified as a clerk of construction. It's not the traditional route though. Most people follow the academic path while they are young rather than qualifying later while working on the tools as well or they find an employer willing to sponsor them through the courses as part of their employment.