Serving regular Lieutenant Colonel - no medals?

Or a LSGC could just be an office clerk n that like seriously Half Col with no medals yet I'm a Lance jack with a Afghan OSM And a UN Medal.... Maybe he could just be one of those transfered from AGC......

I'm not an expert in this, but here's a pic of Field Marshal the Lord Inge with "only" four medals. (He's got three more than me) but he's got some serious tin below that rack. But rank does not necessarily mean medals by the look of it. I've seen some very large racks on junior nco's say on Remembrance Sunday.
image.jpeg

Saw that the CO of 3 AAC appears to have no medals. It got me thinking - is this possible? Can one make it to half-colonel, in this day and age, without any ribbons at all? Surely, he must have at least a QDJM?
Some people dont bother wearing them for a practice.

Too late for Op Banner;
L-plate pilot in the 90s;
A1 pilot, therefore, straight to QHI;
He's wearing foreign wings on the right breast - possibly exchange QHI on Apache;
Who knows, but he may just have fallen through the Op/Gong trap.

ETA: Good point about the Golden and Diamond Jubilee gongs, though.

Was reading this article - RAF and Army Air Corps prepare for Royal Wedding at Suffolk bases | Daily Mail Online

Saw that the CO of 3 AAC appears to have no medals. It got me thinking - is this possible? Can one make it to half-colonel, in this day and age, without any ribbons at all? Surely, he must have at least a QDJM?
What do you suppose this aircrew is practicing doing on the Wedding Day? Taking the happy couple to Windsor and leaving the hatch open so Meghan can get a good squint at London.. One abrupt bank later and oops. ;-)
RAF Apache Helicopter.JPG