Selection quality lowered?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by JoeProsser94, Nov 10, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. So my mate got in to the army now and is currently at Harrogate. But he was telling me about people at selection got in, that had failed the run in the correct time, and some people couldn't/still can't do pullups but they managed to pass.

Is this possible?

I'm curious.. I've been training for about 4 months now and I'm not running the 1.5 mile any faster yet.. But I am able to run 4 miles straight now.. so I've built my stamina up pretty well now. Just my speed. But still, answer the main question and read please, thank you.
  2. My understanding is that you need to pass your final PFT and CFT (for your trade) in order to pass out, when you get in to basic it's a gradual fitness build up in order to pass both these tests. This is for adult entry i would imagine junior may be the same.

I'm confuessed are you saying about selection at ADSC or while in the army during basic?
  3. Hello fella, at the end of the day if it is true does it really matter? Dont think about minimum standards go to ADSC and smash it, stop thinking about other people and focus on getting the career by putting in 110% effort!!!!!
  4. ADSC mate. :)
  5. Yeah good thinking man.
    I don't think about anyone else, just get nervous I wont do it in the required time.
  6. Forget about the "pass" standard. If the army has more applicants than vacancies, it will only choose the best. Do as well as you can.
  7. Whats your exercise routine like? you should be doing the run in at least 11mins if you been training regulary with intervals, hill sprits and long slow runs.
  8. I've only recently added intervals.. and they're on a treadmill.