Security Suite - Recommendations Please

Discussion in 'Gaming and Software' started by Jockster915, Jan 18, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Guys currently using F-Secure ISS 2007 and subscription is up next month.

Probably gonna go for a different product this time due to computer slowdown associated with F-Secure. Have looked at Bit Defender and Kapersky but both seem to have problems:

Kapersky does something to files which can never be changed.

Bit Defender problem with updates disabling Firewall.

Any recommendations would be appreciated. Before anyone goes there I would sooner stick pins in my eyes than use Norton or McAfee.

In case you hadn't noticed I'm no techy!

Jockster

2. msr

msr LE

3. Can you link to this please Jockster, I have been using Kapesky for quite a few months now with no problems follwing it coming top in a review I read, however I have not heard anything about what you describe and am intrigued

4. ITG trying to find a link but damned if I can find it again.

It was something to do with the way K7 tags your files whether you want it to or not.

Not sure what the consequences were. Will keep looking.

Jockster

5. K7 tags all executable files (in its own internal database) so that it knows if they have been updated. I am not aware of this causing any permanent problems (but have never tried it on Vista).

I use it myself because it has certain advantages in my job (better naming for specific anti-bank trojans, for example). Very effective but oh my effing god, it is slow.