Section in Attack Assessment

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by bren_gunner, Mar 18, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, have my section in attack assessment week on next week, just looking for any advice that people here might have so that i can lead the best sia, im new to sia and now have to complete the assessment so any advice people who have vast experience here could give me would be greatly appreciated for the ic and 2ic role.

Regards

Bren_Gunner

2. Ostentatious use of Binos followed by a good Fire Control Order, avoid bunching on the objective, bags of smoke and reorg. at the bushy-topped tree for tea and wads :thumright:

PS. Don't forget to stick some foliage under your trouser-bottoms, back in the Eighties it was all there was between us and 3 Shock Army!

3. Give good fire control orders and make sure they are understood.

Remember its fire AND movement - everybody down and no fire is not a crisis. Somebody moving and no fire will be.

Don't rush it. When you say 'prepare to move' give the poor sods time to sort themselves out before you say 'move'.

Get the reorg right. Your bods won't achieve a position of all round defence by themselves - they will lie down at random and start talking.

It's all about control - you do the thinking, the blokes do the shooting.

4. Can you explain to an old dog what this is (my bold) ..Course/Bn Trg/Cadets ???

The best thing you can do is rehearsals again and again work with the basics ..dont worry about being the "best led section attack" i would worry about getting it right and understanding the mechs of it ...