Secondary Teacher wishing to join

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Armyapp62, Aug 21, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a secondary teacher looking to join the TA in my area, but i am concerned as i have recently read the following on the TES pages:

"The army practically shuts down during the school holidays so regular soldiers can be with their families. That means we can only do training if schools agree to give us time off during term-time."

My school would not allow me to have time out of actual school time for training - i had hoped that their would be a means to accomodate my training during weekends/school holidays but im now concerned that i may not be able to meet the requirments.

Are there any other teachers who have simlar issues or can tell me this is not the case.

Thanks for your time

2. They're on about the real army. TA have do a lot of stuff like battle camps during the summer hols.

3. The best option is to get your self down to your local recruting office and speak to them, find out what the routine is of your local TA unit. There was a teacher on the first eposode of tv program on watch, TA and the Telban so it can be done.

4. You used the wrong 'their' in the third paragraph.
    See me.

• Like Like x 6
  5. You shouldn't have any problem in the TA and being a teacher. Much traiing is done during summer hols and other hols.

Besides, there is a definite link between TA COs and Headmasters... or was.

Does your school have a CCF? You could possibly join that aswell, might make the school more disposed to your choice of part time career.

6. Grumblegrunt

Grumblegrunt LE Book Reviewer

wasnt there a preston front character who was a teacher?

spock I think they called him :)