Sebastian - The Case for the Defence

Discussion in 'The ARRSE Hole' started by sebastian_r, Oct 21, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Although I have already introduced myself on the OTC Forum, I feel that given the way my last few posts have been received by many, it may be useful to reproduce my introduction for a wider audience. Here it is:

Good afternoon!

I'd just like to add a short post to introduce myself, if I may. As the more astute among you may have guessed from my nick, my name is Sebastian. I'm a student at Bennies (St Benet's Hall) and a proud member of the Oxford UOTC. When I graduate I very much hope to be commissioned into The Rifles or the Foot Guards - none of that line nonsense for me! Hope to get to know some of you and join in the fun.

I must say that in the week or so that I have been aware of ARRSE's existence, I have found it to be an amusing and informative resource as well as an introduction to the mindset of the British soldier. That being the case, I am slightly hurt that I have been given such a frosty reception.

I have noticed that this reception has come mainly from those in the supporting ranks and I think this is telling. To those to whom it applies - I think you have got me quite wrong. I fully intend to be a career officer and I try to cultivate the right mindset to that end. Some of you many mistake that mindset for arrogance but, again, you are wrong. I am simply a young man who believes in traditional military values in a world that seems to despise them. I am a great supporter of hierarchy and intend to serve my future superior officers to the best of my ability. Excuse me if I make no apology for expecting the same from those set below me.