Search for a new laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware - PCs, Consoles, Gadgets' started by Boldnotold, Sep 24, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Boldnotold

Boldnotold LE Book Reviewer

Hoping some of the clever people on here will give me independent advice before I start speaking to sales people.

I have an HP p.c., around ten years old, which works well, but is very slow and runs Windows XP and IE6.

I'm a technobiff and the idea of upgrading an operating system or browser terrifies me. I used to be a proficient COBOL/IMS Programmer, but am more than bewildered by 'plug and play' and the ability of various elements of a p.c.s makeup to react badly with one another. The fear of change is the main reason why I've kept this machine for so long.

I use it for email, spreadsheets, creating and reviewing word documents, and a little light internet surfing and online shopping. I also store documents and photographs. Don't do games, chat rooms or anything that requires mega sound or vision. I would like to use Skype but was embarrassed when I asked the offspring to install it and he laughed at my lack of webcam and microphone (told you I was a biff and am still surprised that I haven't appeared in 'how bone is your missis' for that one).

I've decided to change machine, and would like a laptop so I can sit in the comfy chair to use it. So my question is - what does the panel recommend, for a lady of limited budget (£500-ish), limited requirements, and limited skills at transferring software and files from one place to another. Is an external Hard Drive a sensible option?

OK that's two questions. Please feel free to make observations. Thanks for any advice you can give.