Scottish Officers in Scottish Regiments

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Bell206, Mar 9, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I was recently watching Ross Kemp with 5 Scots. and noticed that the Officers appeared to be English (nothing wrong with that I might add) BUT is there a lack of Scots who wish to serve as Commissioned Officers?
    Or are they Jocks who put on posh accents after Sandhurst?

2. Perhaps not all Scotsmen wish to conform to stereotype.

3. What stereotype? Being Scottish? Sounding Scottish? What's the problem with that?

I'm a Glaswegian Helicopter pilot, I sound Scottish and it has not done my career any harm. I don't understand the stereotype thingy you refer too.

4. Most poshjocks I know don't sound very Glaswegian

5. Posh has no regional accent, A bit like being a homo

6. Sorry, I meant that we do not all run around acting like Rab C.

7. You've made my day there!

8. --------

9. It seems that many English officers think that Scottish regiments are a good choice (nothing wrong with that at all). However, some often have feeble reasoning for their choice. Whilst the usual 'i own half of Scotland' excuse has been used for a long time, i recently met a chap whose reasoning astonished me. This chap, who wore a lovely red hackle, claimed that he had chosen the prestigious regiment because 'he liked the sound of bagpipes', which absolutely amazed me.
    It is worth bearing in mind as well, that many of those from Edinburgh sound like they're from England as well, dont be fooled.

10. Seems like a perfectly reasonable reason to join a regiment to me... It really doesnt matter where you are from and if you have no family or regional affiliations to any regiment why not choose the one whose mess dress is nicest/have the best quick march/get a cool hat?