SAS failures in GW1

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by REMEbrat, Jan 6, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. During Gulf War 1 Norman Schwarzkopf had spoken very highly of the SAS, they were his 'great white hope'. Three weeks later one of the four convoys sent into Iraq was 'scattered to the four winds' and two foot patrols had been compromised. Did this cause the SAS major problems with the Americans for the rest of the Gulf War and beyond or was it swept under the carpet by Politicians and Commanders?
  2. I seem to recall reading the opposite, that Schwarzkopf wasn't enthused about SAS or other SpecOps mucking about cluttering up his theater, and that he assented to special operations only reluctantly?
  3. I have no first hand knowledge, but my understanding was that Stormin' Norman did'nt like ANY Special Forces units. IIRC, this went back to an incident he had witnessed in Viet Nam, when American SF soldiers fcuked up and had to be rescued by conventunal forces.

Standing by to be corrected...
  4. Command_doh

Command_doh LE Book Reviewer

Well the version I recall was that the only way Schwarzkopf could Keep Israel from attacking Iraq was Norm's personal assurance that British Special Forces were amongst those tasked to hunt down and destroy the mobile scud launchers and cut the lines of communication on the MSR.

I can understand that blurb being on the dustjacket of Andy McLiar's book(it was), but less so from the BBC GW1 documentary. On the other hand, McLiar was involved in that too...

And lets not forget the Schwarzkopf - signed Iraq map, and personal thanks he gave THEM. Also in the book.
  5. IIRC, Schwarzkopf had no need of British SF and it was only untill Billiere managed to convince him otherwise. But by the end of Op D.S, Schwarzkopf was saying Brit SF was second to none.