Saluting Foreign Officers

Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by RobinHood, Feb 26, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Do we have to salute foreign officers?

In Basic Training we were told that we dont salute the person, but salute the Queens Commission. Obviously Foreign officers dont hold the Queens Commission, so do we have to salute them?

I seen a British WO in SHAPE saluting an American officer. I want to know if I dont salute can I be told to do so....... or if a foreign officer can tell me to salute them..

cheers
    Robin

2. I think it comes under manners.

3. WAH?

4. terroratthepicnic

terroratthepicnic LE Reviewer Book Reviewer
    1. ARRSE Runners

In BLMF there were loads of foriegn officers. We never saluted them. But then I was a chef and you don't salute when wearing a chefs hat.

5. Auld-Yin

Auld-Yin LE Reviewer Book Reviewer Reviews Editor

How about British WOs saluting American WOs? :desertsoldier:

Where is Chief Two when you need him :(

6. Ravers

Ravers LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

The myth that you have to salute people has been around for ages. It was basically a big Wah that some guys from the 15th Duke of Toxteths Light Yeomanry of Foot, dreamed up back in 1412. It has kind of continued ever since unnoticed.

Next time you see any officer, don't bother saluting. If he bollocks you, explain that it is all a Wah and he will see the funny side. There is nothing anywhere in any rules that says you have to salute anyone, even the Queen.

Gen dit.

• Funny Funny x 1
  7. Delighted you've cleared that up - how silly will all those officers feel for having pulled up soldiers for not saluting!
    And the Guards outside Buck House can just... relax.

8. Sixty

Sixty LE Moderator Book Reviewer
    1. ARRSE Cyclists and Triathletes