Sacrificial Lamb?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by PartTimePongo, Jan 21, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/3417425.stm

Guess he hasn't been forgiven for being forthright during Hutton.

Defence chief grilled on kit fear

Hang on in there Sir Kevin :)

Maybe there are some Civil Servants in the MOD who DO give a damn?

2. msr

msr LE

PtP,

This is one of the (rare) occasions that I do have confidence in our MPs. When it comes to a select committee they cut to the quick. Now, if we could get the main chamber to work like this...

"If I was a soldier being led by some of the hierarchy I see at this table, I would be bloody worried, to be quite honest." Gerry Steinberg
    Labour MP.

msr

3. Tory shadow defence minister Gerald Howarth said the reason ministers had not wanted to send the extra kit necessary was because they did not want to "send signals" to Labour MPs opposed to the conflict.

So, it was political! I expect that makes it all okay then....

4. Good morning Chaps,

Well yes, (without sounding pretentious), it always has been Political - with the added objective of not getting caught. Unfortunately due to or perhaps in spite of the old Thames Shuffle (akin to the Potomac Two-step), they have been found out.

I suppose the obvious question is now will or can anything be done to get rid (if that's infact the correct response), of the offending article. I would hasten to presume that one would not just want a damage limitation exercise - something too little too late - but infact hardcore retribution for some appalling acts of negligence, misleading and out-right murder.

May the fight continue - keep it clean Harry, 'now what I mean?

Ivor

5. Good to see a CO standing up publicly about the lack of kit - same article as above half way down