SA80 Suppressor

Surely all weapons make a noise when the working parts come forward/ backward. Does that make all silencers pointless?

P

PrinceAlbert

Rawr said:
Surely all weapons make a noise when the working parts come forward/ backward. Does that make all silencers pointless?
Not at all. A silenced .22 subsonic round (not a crappy air rifle pellet) a proper cased .22 round, is as silent as you'll get. An auto .22 is a great weapon at close quarters with minimal give away.

Yes well we can imagine all long rifles making a substantial noise with regards to their moving parts, I was wondering if anyone had ever seen one as I thought the guy who wrote this had wrote it p**sed off his face and used photoshop :roll:

Interesting guide, this guide was written back in 2002 from the post date and its showing additional models of the SA80, a "carbine" model and a "tank model" which looks an early prototype

I am no sound engineer but recently a suppressor maker friend of mine did some testing at my private range for a number of long gun suppressors for 5.56 and 7.62X51.

Rifles included M16 DMR, M4, M40A1, L96 , Sig SSG3000 and SG550.

The average Db reduction was between 35-40. With supersonic ammo, this reduced the report of the shot fairly significantly (perceived sound at firing point) but the crack of the round going downrange was unaffected. The value of the suppressor (as in the case of any military suppressor even using subsonic ammo) is to eliminate flash and reduce and disguise the report of the shot (not totally eliminate it) and thereby make locating the shooter on the basis of sight or sound more difficult. Merely hearing the supersonic crack of the round is not as helpful in locating the source of the shot, depending also on the actual location of the observer in relation to the shooter.

FA556-212