Running - no stamina

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by xvellersx, Jun 2, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, I've been training to run for ages, but I can't seem to run long distances without stopping. The longest I can run non-stop is 0.5 miles (pathetic, I know). Does anyone have any suggestions for what I can do? I've been doing runs on every other day for the past two months.

2. Sounds like you're not ready to use running to improve your aerobic fitness. Instead try swimming, which has the advantage of forcing you to exert yourself but control your breathing. Also hit the hills for 5-10 mile hikes at the weekend and take it from there.

What do you feel is the main reason for needing to stop; out of breath or muscle pain?

3. You need to improve your cardiovascular fitness.

4. The only thing you can do is keep training, every run you do go that little bit further. Even if its 50m just keep gradually building it up. You will get fit if you just keep doing it, but you must push yourself. Its as much mental as it is actual fitness. Don't give up easy, fight the pain and you will reap the rewards. :)

5. Sounds to me like you are not pushing yourself hard enough, i took my 18 yr old nephew out for a run a few weeks back and he was very much the same, however he could still hold a conversation when he stopped. :? ...

Most young lads do not know what their bodies are capable of, unless you have someting medically wrong with you, you should jog at a comfortable pace, do not sprint off and blow yourself out. You should easily be able to jog for a comfortable 30 - 40 mins, increase the pace at certain intervals and also increase the time you are out by 5 mins every week or so...you will soon build up your stamina.