Running just wont improve, help!

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Maverick999, Jul 30, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys, after some help.

I have been running for 12 months now and its not getting any easier. I seem no better now than when I started 12 months ago. Im not unfit, infact im reasonably fit. I do weights 5-6x a week different muscle groups(splits), thrown in with a bit of rowing and cycling and the odd class on a rest day. Usually spinning or boxercise.

Unfortunately I cant run further than a mile without stopping, this has been the case for 12 months now. I run a mile in 7.5 minutes and have to stop as im out of breath and legs a little fatigued. Occasionally I will run for around another minute or so beyond the mile but this is sheer will power opposed to fitness. Anyway after my mile I walk for a minute or 2 then do another mile then walk tgen finish with half a mile by which point I feel as if I've done a half marathon! First 6-7 months I put this down to being a new runner but I would really expect to see some improvement by now!

My breathings awful too and I cant seem to get a steady rythm going.

Im 5 11, 12 stone 29 years of age and a bmi of 23. Am I really this unfit??? In my teens I was a decent runner, from 14 to 20 I was regularly running 6 minute miles over 5 miles. Could do an 8.50 mile and a half best effort. Sadly due to a bad stress fracture and constant shin splints I could never shake off I quit running all together for around 6 years at the age of 22. Last year I finally cracked my injury problems but I just cant get anywhere near my old times or distances. My running is quite frankly pathetic at the moment and I need your help.