Run-away L60 anyone?

Discussion in 'RAC' started by StumpyHussar, Jan 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. When training at s1tty Catterick back in 1977 as a driver I was told that the L60 had a tendancy to run-away. When I got to the regiment in 78 (after firefighting in Glasgow for Christmas because of our gallent cowardly, grasping, striking firemen :evil: ) I went on my first ex on Soltau. This tank was the tank from hell, everything went wrong with it the genny packed up, the gun kit went after a week and I had two pack lifts but was never towed which I took some pride in.

On a bit of a tangent we had a few tanks off the road due to lack of OEP 220, was this the result of another strike?

Anyhoo I had the tank in line waiting for the washdown before being taken back on Antars, I jumped out to have a wee and the bloody thing died. Wouldn't start again for love nor money and had to be towed through. As she was a dead duck I was sent back and the mojos (WHY were they called that?) loaded the cow up.

The next day I was sitting in my room in senny and heard an explosion. Turned out that a VM called woody tried to start the b1tch after it was off loaded and it ran away, he stupidly sat in the seat waiting for it to go and set the fire extinguishers off but the tiffy pulled him out before it went. Next day it was REAL surprise to see my little tank so nadgered. Lifted the back decks to see the twyfold coupling almost straight and both fans had been destroyed.There was a huge hole in the top cranck case where a piston had come through and the fuel panniers had bled all the fuel into the hull. Th bottom of the turret floor was covered and it was almost over the drivers seat. As the scabby driver it was my job to sort it out for back-loading.