Royal Yeomanry

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by pazza, Oct 17, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there, I am seriously looking to join the TA soon and after looking at what's local-ish to me I spotted the Royal Yeomanry, namely A Squadron in Swindon. I am looking to hear from anybody who might be part of A squadron who could give me a good idea of what it is really like and not just what the website says. I'm an ex soldier myself so I know there is a difference between the careers office brochure and the reality of stagging on for hours in the rain.

I know I could look at going there myself to see what it's like but I am quite busy for a few weeks and I don't want to waste anybody's time should I go there. I have heard good things about them from this site but a lot of the threads are fairly old and things could have changed rapidly in the last year or so but if it's still quite similar then it looks a good varied role with some very enthusiastic guys.

Any help will be much appreciated, thanks.
  2. A Sqn have just come back from Denmark on a two-week ex, and the ones I met were a thoroughly sound bunch of blokes. They're getting WMIK in the very near future to replace the Defenders they have at the minute.
  3. Things have indeed changed in the last year:

1. The first of our RWMIKs has arrived, with more to come over the next few months.
    2. Our change of role to "light cavalry" has been confirmed.
    3. The Sqn has reached full manning (7 officers and 86 ORs), although the recruit pipeline still needs bods and ten of our guys have just mobilised for Op HERRICK 18 this week, so don't let the full manning thing hold you back. Anyway, we can overbear.
    4. We have raised a fourth troop at Windsor.